Review: The Kingmaker’s Daughter

The Kingmaker’s Daughter (The Cousins’ War) by Philippa Gregory
Touchstone, A Division of Simon & Schuster, Inc., August 2012

Book Description (from amazon)

Release date: April 9, 2013 | Series: The Cousins’ War

SPIES, POISON, AND CURSES SURROUND HER. . . . IS THERE ANYONE SHE CAN TRUST?The Kingmaker’s Daughter—Philippa Gregory’s first sister story since The Other Boleyn Girl—is the gripping tale of the daughters of the man known as the Kingmaker, Richard Neville, Earl of Warwick: the most powerful magnate in fifteenth-century England. Without a son and heir, he uses his daughters, Anne and Isabel, as pawns in his political games, and they grow up to be influential players in their own right.

At the court of Edward IV and his beautiful queen, Elizabeth Woodville, Anne grows from a delightful child to become ever more fearful and desperate when her father makes war on his former friends. Married at age fourteen, she is soon left widowed and fatherless, her mother in sanctuary and her sister married to the enemy. Anne manages her own escape by marrying Richard, Duke of Gloucester, but her choice will set her on a collision course with the overwhelming power of the royal family.

My Review – 4 Stars

Author/Historian, Philippa Gregory, does not disappoint in The Kingmaker’s Daughter (The Cousins’ War).  If you would like to immerse yourself in the drama of English Royalty centuries ago (1400s) , consider reading this book and others in the series.  According to Philippa Gregory, The Cousins’ War was “called the War of the Roses centuries later in the 1800s.”A large part of this story is about the fight for the crown of England for both the King and Queen. Attitudes certainly have changed since then. Noteworthy is that today there is much press on the order of succession to the throne. Here are a couple of links on the topic:

I did not read the books for this series in order and have only read two so far, The Lady of the Rivers: A Novel (The Cousins’ War) and The Kingmaker’s Daughter (The Cousins’ War).  If you would like to read the books in order, from Goodreads, this is the list:

The Cousins’ War series

6 works, 6 primary works

Currently, the chronological order that these books should be read in is –
1) The Lady of the Rivers
2) The White Queen
3) The Red Queen
4) The Kingmaker’s Daughters
5) The White Princess (not yet released)
NOTE – where The Last Rose fits on this list is currently unknown.

5 thoughts on “Review: The Kingmaker’s Daughter”

Comments are closed.